Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.
RSS Feed MembersSearch
Pages: 1
Opportunity Fire
Transport + OP Fire + Alternate Fire/Special Fire Actions Posted on [30/07/2022] à 20:47

Hey guys, just have a few quick question that i gathered after a few games.


1) In HoN, say we have a situation where we have a sandbag (2 square) terrain with 2 infantry unit in it, giving them the overwatch/OP fire ability.


An enemy unit moves in clear/obscure LoS of both the units in the sandbag. Does this mean they both can take a shot each at the enemy at the same time (one after the other) on that same movement made by the enemy.


Or can only 1 unit OP fire at an enemy per 1 move they make? Meaning for both the units in the sandbags to OP fire at the enemy infantry that is moving, the enemy would need to move twice/ 2 separate squares.


Personal it would make sense for both of them to take a pop at the enemy together as that would be more realistic, but at the same time I can see the later rule being used too.


What are your thoughts?


2) Also can Alternate Firing Actions/Special Firing Actions be used in Op fire?


3) Lastly, If a order has been given to a unit inside a light vehicle and decides to fire from the vehicle, and the unit inside use Alternate Firing Actions/Special Firing Actions instead like it would if it wasn't in the vehicle.


Thanks again my guy.


Rahul

OP Posted on [01/08/2022] à 02:19

Quote from The_Don on [30/07/2022] à 20:47

An enemy unit moves in clear/obscure LoS of both the units in the sandbag. Does this mean they both can take a shot each at the enemy at the same time (one after the other) on that same movement made by the enemy.


Or can only 1 unit OP fire at an enemy per 1 move they make? Meaning for both the units in the sandbags to OP fire at the enemy infantry that is moving, the enemy would need to move twice/ 2 separate squares.


Personal it would make sense for both of them to take a pop at the enemy together as that would be more realistic, but at the same time I can see the later rule being used too.


Well, let's run through this a bit.


What is the relevant wording of the Opportunity Fire rules (BRO, P.24) that cover the situation?


"During…the Activation Phase, an Unactivated Unit can take a Firing Action against an enemy unit…at any time during the Movement Action of [that] enemy unit."


Any Unit with access to Opportunity Fire has the ability to use it. The ability is not granted by the Moving enemy, it is possessed by the unit sitting in a Defensive Position. So if you have 2 such positions, you can have 2 units ready to shoot.


There is absolutely no language there limiting how many units can employ OpFire that way, just as there are no rules for limiting how many units can use their Activation to shoot at any one enemy Unit to which they can all draw LoS.


So if your opponent ran one of his Units into LoS of two Units with OpFire, then you have two opportunities to employ OpFire on that unit.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

OP Posted on [01/08/2022] à 02:31

Quote from The_Don on [30/07/2022] à 20:47

2) Also can Alternate Firing Actions/Special Firing Actions be used in Op fire?


3) Lastly, If a order has been given to a unit inside a light vehicle and decides to fire from the vehicle, and the unit inside use Alternate Firing Actions/Special Firing Actions instead like it would if it wasn't in the vehicle.


What are the rules for Alternate Fire Actions? You can find them via the index quite easily and I recommend reviewing them.


You can use an Alternate Firing Action to modify any Firing Action you take, or take it instead of your normal Firing Action. So any time you can take a normal Firing Action, you can take the Alternate.


Since an Alternate Firing Action includes rules about Special Abilities, I should clarify one important point — You CAN use an Alternate Firing Action to replace a Firing Action triggered by a Special Ability, but once you have swapped in the AFA, you cannot use any other Special Abilities on that shot.


So if your unit has OpFire and Suppressive Fire Abilities, if an enemy unit triggers your unit's OpFire you can swap in a Grenade, but do not get to use Suppressive Fire Ability on the grenade throw.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

Pages: 1