Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.
RSS Feed MembersSearch
Pages: 1
ASSAULT RESOLUTION_DEFENDER WIN & ZOC
ASSAULT RESOLUTION_DEFENDER WIN & ZOC Posted on [17/05/2022] à 16:48

Hi, maybe is a silly question, but I'm unable to find past references about.


During the resolution of an assault which the attacker lose, the [A] unit has to return to the square it lauched the assault, with a Forced Move.


If the starting hex of the assault is in the ZOC of another enemy unit (not only the defender one), the [A] unit is eliminated as it happens with a defender retreat?


Many thanks.


ASSAULT RESOLUTION_DEFENDER WIN & ZOC Posted on [17/05/2022] à 20:26

Quote from Malakai on [17/05/2022] à 16:48

During the resolution of an assault which the attacker lose, the [A] unit has to return to the square it lauched the assault, with a Forced Move.


If the starting hex of the assault is in the ZOC of another enemy unit (not only the defender one), the [A] unit is eliminated as it happens with a defender retreat?


You are making an understandable but incorrect assumption.


The Assault Rules (p. 25 of BRO rules) say that an assaulting unit "may TRY to enter a square occupied by an enemy unit" (first paragraph). It also says (in the second bullet point) "The actual assault happens in the moment just BEFORE the movement into the target's square." So the Assault is the attempt to enter the enemy's square.


Don't confuse the signaling mechanism of overlapping the two unit tokens with movement. That is why the rules describing the signaling mechanism note:


Until the assault is resolved, the attacking unit is considered as being in the square from which it launched the assault.


So the Attacker never leaves their square. To put that in ZoC terms, they never move within an enemy unit's ZoC.


And before you ask "but why is it a forced move, then", keep in mind that whether you win or lose, there is a forced move as the last step. So basically an Assault always ends in a forced move and any relevant bits that trigger off of that movement. That is part of the Assault action.


Hopefully that clear that up.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

ASSAULT RESOLUTION_DEFENDER WIN & ZOC Posted on [17/05/2022] à 23:01

Thank you.


Pages: 1