Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.
RSS Feed MembersSearch
Pages: 1
Hidden units confusion
Hidden units confusion Posted on [05/01/2022] à 01:48

ATTENTION: This post is about the CARD GAME, not the board game.


I'm still a bit confused on Hidden units. It appears to me that the ONLY way to fire at a unit that is hidden is ranged fire. Because, as stated in the rules, moving adjacent to an enemy unit, the enemy unit is revealed. (I see from another post that my unit wouldn't be revealed if it was hidden and moving.) Since most units must be adjacent to engage for the most part, it seems only a unit with a range greater than 1 could ever fire on a hidden unit. Clearly Artillery and Mortars would possible have this on the first shot. And if another unit type were on a hill (range increased by 1) those units could fire a a unit that was hidden, again only on the first shot. Am I missing something?


Also when a unit arrives as a reenforcement and arrives adjacent to a hidden enemy uint, is the hidden unit revealed? That appears to be the case, because the new unit is "moving" on to the map". But is arriving as a reenforcement "moving" for the purpose of Fog of War?


Thanks much!


Hidden units confusion Posted on [06/01/2022] à 04:56

Quote from ricvandyke on [05/01/2022] à 01:48

I'm still a bit confused on Hidden units. It appears to me that the ONLY way to fire at a unit that is hidden is ranged fire. Because, as stated in the rules, moving adjacent to an enemy unit, the enemy unit is revealed. (I see from another post that my unit wouldn't be revealed if it was hidden and moving.) Since most units must be adjacent to engage for the most part, it seems only a unit with a range greater than 1 could ever fire on a hidden unit. Clearly Artillery and Mortars would possible have this on the first shot. And if another unit type were on a hill (range increased by 1) those units could fire a a unit that was hidden, again only on the first shot. Am I missing something?


Also when a unit arrives as a reenforcement and arrives adjacent to a hidden enemy uint, is the hidden unit revealed? That appears to be the case, because the new unit is "moving" on to the map". But is arriving as a reenforcement "moving" for the purpose of Fog of War?


Thanks much!


Nothing personal my friend, but it seems you not only are "confused"… But it seems you have not read at all the rules!!! To recap you the hidden units movements and shooting/spotting rules re-read the manual or read what follows:

– hidden units can be placed face up or face down as you deploy them and / or you can hid or reveal them while you move or are stationary on a certain square (maybe your mission is to conquer and hold a strategic point or draw fire and similar; who knows?!?).

– to reveal the hidden units you must have a clear line of sight to them if they are in open terrain or be at 2 or less squares from them if you have a hidden troop inside a building, a wood , a bocage or any other type of "terrain feature" such as swamps or bushes and so on… It represents them using direct and / or indirect techniques of concealment such as Gillies suits or moving as slowly as they can or by exploiting ditches or treelines or shadows created by the undergrowth and such… Or camos such as camo nets or camo paints…

– only infantry, medium vehicules and certain planes with certain cards played and only them, can spot a hidden troop. Heavy tanks cannot, for instance.

– artillery and snipers or enemy troops and vehicules CANNOT shoot or damage in any way hidden troops unless they are showing their "inactive side" which is the side where the troop itself is depicted as revealed. And remember, when the troops show a "?" mark on one side they are recon or "recce" troops. And they have a value of 1 if put inside a semi-tracked vehicule or any other lorry, truck or troop carrier vehicule, like bren carriers or landing vessels…

– if they shoot, they become revealed… Unless they are snipers (depicting the sniper icon onto them) or unless they use a particular card before the shooting takes place, and the card is the remain concealed card present in each army deck. And you can easily spot it out, just go and find it!).


For any mistakes I made I ask you to forgive me and tell me that, so I can eventually rectify my explanation… For anything else, I hope I've told you each thing correctly and have clarified each doubt you had.


Have an happy new year and a happy new playtime, next time you play HoS/HoN system…


Bye


Hidden units confusion Posted on [06/01/2022] à 07:04

Note that this is a question about the card game, not the regular HoN.


☠☠☠ Heroes of Belgium ☠☠☠

Hidden units confusion Posted on [06/01/2022] à 12:43

Ivan thanks for the in-depth response, but as Bart points out this is about the CARD GAME not the regular board game. For example, in the CARD game there is no "Line of sight". The CARD game rules are quite short and, trust me, I have read them all and several times.


Confusion abounds in this thread apparently.


Have a great day. And I'm still left without a solid answer.


Hidden units confusion Posted on [11/01/2022] à 13:01

For those who might be reading this, this was answered by Patrick on Board Game Geek.


Hidden units confusion Posted on [11/01/2022] à 23:26

Quote from ricvandyke on [11/01/2022] à 13:01

For those who might be reading this, this was answered by Patrick on Board Game Geek.


https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/2786087/hidden-units-confusion


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

Pages: 1