Quote from Ganymedepro on [14/04/2021] à 20:51
So, the answer would be YES? If your unit is partially in the same space of your opponent's unit via the Assault … Being a range of 0… You're then allowed a Firing Action with Burst Into Action as it says at any time of your movement. It's the same as the Charge ability. What's the difference??? You don't seem to be saying NO… Or you don't know perhaps?
Quote from Nostradunwhich on [23/03/2021] à 19:15
Quote from Ganymedepro on [22/03/2021] à 20:49
Deep One units … with … Limited Range Firing Icon of 0 (Such as Garth'Lyeh LR:ZERO). I gather that that means they have no ability to take a Firing Action shot at an opponent unit.
Correct.
I had thought this was clear from the limitations of Range 0 – no two belligerent units can ever occupy the same space. Firing is a physical impossibility. I cannot tell you, "you cannot shoot", because rather than creating an ability that clearly indicates that restriction, DPG instead chose to use the Limited Range mechanic to create a situation in which a shot can NEVER be made. While there is no functional difference between a unit that cannot make a firing action and a unit that has a Limited Range of 0, there is a semantic one.
There are a few misconceptions in your points so let me address them:
– An Assault is not a move. Although you declare an Assault plan before you begin a Move action, the Move ends at the space adjacent to the target unit. You must be adjacent to a unit to launch the actual assault.
– Zone of Control prevents two enemy units from ever occupying the same space during a Move action, and a Move is the only time you can use Burst Into Action. You can use it at the end of the Move, but as stated, that is 1 space away. Just because you declared an Assault before your Move does not mean you can ignore ZoC during a Move.
– While the Assault rules state you overlap a unit to signify which units are engaged in the assault, but even then your unit remains in the space from which it launched the Assault. Once the assault resolves, there may be a Forced Move of one of the units at that point, but even in that case the units never overlap. Furthermore, since an Assault is not a Move, you cannot use Burst Into Action in an Assault.
I will bring up a few points you did not yet cover:
– Belligerents cannot occupy the same vehicle using Transport
– Civilians do stack, but they are not belligerents. You may only take a Firing Action on an enemy unit.
– Not even HoBR's Teleportation allows two units to be in the same space. They can try to Assault into the space, but that uses the normal Assault rules.
TL;DR: To summarize, there is no situation in which you can force two units to occupy the same space that will allow a unit with a Limited Range of 0 to be able to make a Firing Action on an enemy unit.
I do not recall if you have the Compendium, but if you do not then I hightly recommend you grab the Heroes of Stalingrad rules available for download here in the HoS section of the Downloads. Use that for core mechanics because the SoN rules are not as tightly written. You will still need the SoN rules in that case to deal with the Mythos-specific stuff like spells and terror, but for core mechanics like shooting, assault, etc. the HoS book will help.
Finally, on a personal note, if I don't know the answer to a rule, I say as much.
|