Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.
RSS Feed MembersSearch
Pages: 1
[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications
Compendium (v2.0) Clarifications Posted on [23/05/2017] à 21:23

This thread will be for clarifications or explanations of v2.0 rules


This thread will be closed. If you want to comment on anything here feel free to start a thread with a [v2.0] tag and the entry here will be updated if needed.


❗ Means there is an actual error in the rules text. (Total: 14)

❓ Means the text is a clarification to help people understand the rules text. (Total: 7)


Latest Update: November 23rd, 2021 – Large creature actually are affected by Swamps.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications Posted on [29/06/2017] à 16:57

Action Cards

Detailing Some Cards (p. 16)

Heroic Feat – Should be titled Burst into Action

Coming Though – Should be titled Don’t Stop

Reactive – Should be titled Dynamic

Fleeing – Should be titled Driven Back

Converging Fire – Should be titled Grouped Shots (Commonwealth deck)


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications Posted on [30/06/2017] à 19:03

Special Abilities (pp. 39-50)


Ambush (p. 39): A concealed unit *can* be the target of an assault, and if assaulted is turned over to its Inactive side. The original line was supposed to indicate you do not use the Active side of the token while fighting an Ambush.


Crew (p. 39): The unit adds special abilities printed on the unit to those of the vehicle. Not abilities gained from Customizations or Options.


Assault (p. 44): The description under the illustration at the top of the second column is wrong. It should read:


Unit A forbids the red movement action in its ZoC.

The American unit moves into the ZoC of units A and B with movement 1. It can launch an assault on unit B (while moving within Unit A's ZoC) because this movement is an assault.


Mechanic (p. 46): The reference to "the Heroic feat" card should actually be a reference to the "Burst Into Action" card.


NCO (p. 47): If you have lost all your stars, but still have any NCO on the board, you have one star as long as the NCO survives.


Driver (p. 48): The "carrying capacity" is measured as Transport capacity. Each hero/officer counts as 1, each single-wound troop counts as 1, each two-wound troop counts as 2.


Vehicles with Driver require units be onboard as "crew" in order to move, but you still give the order to the Vehicle, not the crew if you want to move during the Activation phase. If you do not have sufficient crew, the vehicle cannot move.


As with other Vehicles you can give the crew their own orders if you want them to shoot or take any other actions during the Activation phase.


Alternate Firing Action


If you first activate Alternate Firing Action (such as Sniper), the rules say that you must not use any other special abilities to modify your action. So, you cannot use your Fire on the Move special ability anymore.


But if you first activate your Fire on the Move special ability, which permits you to do a Firing Action with/without penalty and then you activate your Alternate Firing Action (grenade, Sniper, etc.), everything is good.


Reminder: the penalty from Fire on the Move is not applied to the die roll for Sniper, only Obstacle and Suppressed markers are applied to this die roll (or a penalty that is applied to any die roll, of course). If the Alternate Fire Action has its own combat bonuses (grenade, panzerfaust, etc.), those are still modified by the Fire on the Move modifier.


Limited Range 0

No two belligerent units can ever occupy the same space. Firing is a physical impossibility. Zone of Control prevents two enemy units from ever occupying the same space during a Move action. While the Assault rules state you may ignore ZoC, that is only for the actual assault. The same rules state you overlap a unit to signify which units are engaged in the assault, but even then your unit remains in the space from which it launched the Assault. Belligerents cannot even occupy the same vehicle using Transport, because the enemy unit cannot enter the vehicle. While Civilians do have a stacking ability, they are not belligerents to each other.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications Posted on [04/08/2017] à 19:54

Art Section – There is a grievous historical error (reported on BGG) in the text related to "Smokey" Smith. The text states that he was the only Canadian soldier to receive the Victoria Cross in the whole war. In fact there were TEN other Canadian Army recipients (not including one Canadian serving with the British Army in Burma, and four serving in the Navy and Air Force).


Although not rules related, that is a terrible slight to some of the bravest men in noble service to their country if not western civilization.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications Posted on [09/08/2017] à 21:28

Purchasing Recruitment Tiles (p. 33): You no longer need to have every unit in your army share at least one army or faction badge. That rule is now an optional one for a more historical game. As such, the last line of the 3rd paragraph should be deleted.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications Posted on [19/10/2017] à 04:21

Recruitment Options (pp. 51-66)


Recruitment Options (p. 52): Unless the option specifies it is an Alternate firing action, you may use up to 3 identically named markers in the same action"


Ammo (p. 52): Adds to the unit's Combat Bonus, not the Die Roll.


Bangalore (p. 53): The exploding Bangalores only affect Defensive Elements, not all Terrain Elements.


Currahee (p. 66): One sentence is missing: "Discard the selected marker at the end of the Supply phase."


Heroic (p. 60): The warning refers to the additional actions described in the text for the Heroic trait, the first which adds 1 Suppressed marker and the second which adds 2 Suppressed markers. Basically you cannot interrupt the Heroic activations with any other unit until they Active player is done with Heroic activations.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications: Additional Rules Posted on [16/03/2018] à 21:01

Additional Rules


Dark Night (p. 27): You may not conduct Direct Fire with the Indirect Fire special ability.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications: The Battlefield Posted on [18/06/2020] à 09:31

Terrain Effects (p. 18-20)


Contour Lines (p. 18): 3rd paragraph, last sentence. There is an extra "infantry units block" in the sentence. It should read, "Effects of terrain elements that reduce line of sight apply their effects normally (example C), and infantry units block line of sight if both the shooter and the target are infantry units (example D)."


Defensive Elements (pp. 22-25)


Bunkers (p.24): Units, gear of explosion templates that have the Destruction special ability can attempt to stun units inside bunkers by targeting them directly or by targeting the bunker.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications Posted on [22/03/2021] à 20:17

Order Phase (p. 9)

❓ Bluff Tokens (p. 9): Although the rules say you can take a Bluff token to trick your opponents, it is recommended you do take that Bluff token.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications Posted on [28/09/2021] à 21:15

Updated.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

[v2.0] Compendium Clarifications Posted on [23/11/2021] à 08:49

Large Creatures (p. 71)


❗ Movement (p. 71): Large creature are affected by Swamps as well. As long as any portion of the Large Creature is within a Swamp terrain element, the creature retains a Suppressed Marker the same as an Infantry unit in a swamp.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

Pages: 1